top of page

I Don’t Necessarily Want to Be Nice, but I ALWAYS Want to Be Kind.

Updated: Nov 15, 2021


I don't necessarily want to be nice, but I always want to be kind. In fact, I want kindness to mark my life and my leadership; it’s what I want people to think of when they remember me.


Thesaurus.com offers these synonyms for each:

• Nice - likable, agreeable, and cordial

• Kind - generous, considerate, and charitable


Of course, we all have a need to be liked and there are great benefits to being friendly. There are certainly times when it’s important to “go along to get along” with a group and to be polite.


But, “Will I be liked?” isn’t the first question kindness asks. Kindness is more concerned with what is right. Kindness requires us to speak up when others are being mistreated or marginalized, to show up as an ally to others when we know something is wrong, and to stand up for the truth even when we risk being unpopular.


For me, kindness means placing more value on a client, a colleague, or a friend than my own comfort. It means having the courage to tell the truth when it will heal in the long term even if it’s uncomfortable in the moment. It means being authentic even when I’d rather hide because someone needs to know they aren’t alone.


Being nice may feel good, but it stops short of kindness. Being kind is goodness in action toward others. Have you ever even heard of “Random Acts of Niceness”?

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page