top of page

"Normalize"


I keep reading posts where people are asking to normalize this or that. The term “normalize” can be used in different ways: to return to normalcy (the way that medication can normalize heart function) or to shift the collective way of thinking to include something previously thought of as abnormal. When I see it used for the latter, it strikes me as strange because it’s like asking, “Hey, will everybody start doing this thing that I believe is good so I’ll feel more comfortable doing this thing that I believe is good?”


That just isn’t what leadership looks like. I believe one important element of leadership is doing the work to understand what is needed to make something better and then taking appropriate action to put that in place. Some examples that I’ve seen relate to healthy decisions regarding parenting, relationships, and personal boundaries, and the suggestions are good.


Part of being a leader is being willing to take the risk of going first and to bear the consequences if it doesn’t work out. I can’t think of a time when it includes asking others to go out in front and take that risk for you.


I understand that not everyone is called to be a leader and that’s awesome because we need all kinds of people sharing all kinds of giftings. I also get that many of those “normalize” memes are just supposed to be funny messages about change (and many of them really are), but when they are about important issues that affect real people and could potentially bring about genuine transformation, I sure hope no one is just waiting around for someone else to step up.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page